DIY Meal Planning Board

I had been planning to create a meal planning board a few months back but I did not think I had all the materials I would need.  It turns out I was almost right (I ran out of dots towards the end of this and had to use clear tape).

Here is the finished product!

Here is the finished product! It’s not as nice as I wanted it to be, but I just wanted to make it and be done with it!

This project took a little bit longer than it should have because I was having a little bit of difficulty with one of the steps. I know this tutorial will not be all that great, and I am sorry! It’s my very first tutorial ever! And I didn’t plan on making one until I was almost done with it all together!

Here is a list of materials:

  • 1 manila folder
  • 8″ x 11″ Card stock – your choice of color (number of sheets will depend on how many recipes you have)
  • 8″ x 8″ Card stock – your choice of color (number of sheets also depends on how many recipes you have. I was able to get 10 recipes per sheet)
  • Blank white labels
  • Small alphabet stamps & ink pad (your choice of color, I chose black)
  • 8 crafting clothes pins
  • Masking tape
  • Hot glue gun & glue sticks (I used a mini hot glue gun)
  • Small clear adhesive dots
  • Markers or Sharpies – your choice of color
  • 1 cardboard box (I recommend using a thick cardboard to  make it sturdy. I used an old diaper box)
  • 12″ paper trimmer
  • Magnets
  • Scrapbook stickers

Unfortunately, when I started this yesterday, I had already made the recipe name cards on the yellow card stock. I did not take pictures of the steps!

Here are the recipe name cards I made months ago

Here are the recipe name cards I made months ago

I used 8×11 yellow card stock and blank white labels. I actually wrote the recipe name on the labels before I stuck them to the card stock, meaning no wasted yellow card stock! Obviously you can type your recipe name if you’d like! I currently do not have a printer so that is not an option!

This is the paper cutter I used

This is the paper cutter I used

The base piece

The base piece

The manila folder

The manila folder

This is when your cardboard box is going to come in handy. You need to cut your base piece out of this. I didn’t measure mine but I do wish I had made it bigger. I also cut a manila folder in half and trimmed it to fit the base.

Use your small adhesive dots to attach the manila folder to the base piece.

8x8 colored card stock

8×8 colored card stock

8x8 card stock cut in half

8×8 card stock cut in half

The finished halved pieces

The finished halved pieces

I used 7 pieces of 8×8 colored card stock for this next part. I used my paper cutter to cut each sheet in half, on at a time.

20150209_10124820150209_10322220150209_113445

Use your small adhe-sive dots to attach the recipe names to the pieces of card stock you cut in half. You don’t have to make these twice like I basically did. Just make them the size you want to begin with!  

After you attach all the recipe names to the card stock use the paper cutter to cut them individually. I would recommend having some pre-made blank cards to fill-in later.

This is the step that took me a long time. When I originally made the recipe name cards, I also made a little container to go with them on the board I planned to  make. But once I put the name cards on another piece of card stock, they got bigger and I needed a bigger container to hold them. It took me a while to figure out how I made the last container. After several attempts and numerous interruptions from my kids, I finally figured it out and made 2 square containers. I used 2 pieces of 8×8 card stock to make them. The first one I made was a little off, but the second one was a lot nicer. Unfortunately I did not think of the tutorial when I was doing this and I don’t have pictures of the process.

Here is the first box and a piece of scrap card stock I used to cover up the imperfections

Here is the first box and a piece of scrap card stock I used to cover up the imperfections

This is what it looked like from the front after I finished it. I also added a piece of scrap card stock (of the same color) to the inside back of the box

This is what it looked like from the front after I finished it. I also added a piece of scrap card stock (of the same color) to the inside back of the box

I cut each piece of card stock to be 6″x6″ long. I marked both sides every 2″ and used my paper cutter to score it. (Make sure you do this to one side only) *Scoring is basically making an indentation in paper to make folding easier. http://www.yourdictionary.com/scoring

I folded the paper after scoring. The middle section will be the bottom of the box. Then you need to score 2″ from the edge and 1″ from the edge, in the opposite direction. Use small adhesive dots to attach your box together. I also used some tape to make sure it held. Then I repeated the process to  make another box.

I used scrap card stock to make 4 2″x2″ squares (using 2 different colors) and then attached one piece to the front of the box and one piece to the inside back of the box.

I did not take pictures of this next step either. I used more of the cardboard box I had in order to make a platform that was more stable for the boxes. Card stock is not light, especially when there are a lot of cards, and I did not want the weight of the recipe name cards to rip the boxes or destroy anything. I used part of the box that already had a fold in it so it would be easier to attach the boxes to them. I did not take measurements but the boxes I made were 2″x2″x2″

The alphabet stamps and ink pad (I got the ink pad from the hand and foot print kit for my son)

The alphabet stamps and ink pad (I got the ink pad from the hand and foot print kit for my son)

After I stamped the clothes pins

After I stamped the clothes pins

This is when I started having A LOT of fun! Using the stamps and the hot glue gun! I pulled out all the letters I would need first and then stamped each day of the week on them.

Now we start piecing it together! Set your clothespins on the base with recipe cards to find the right placement. Mark each spot lightly with a pencil. Place each box (for holding the cards) on the base and mark the bottom lightly with a pencil.

Planning out the board

Planning out the board

After being attached

After being attached

After you have your spaces marked off, its time to plug in your hot glue gun! *make sure you have something protecting your work space as hot glue gets messy  **don’t forget a hot glue gun is HOT

I glued the boxes to the cardboard platforms I made, one side at a time to ensure the glue didn’t dry on me.

Then glue the clothes pins and the boxes to the base using your marks. *don’t put too much or too little glue. 

Now add the finishing touches!

20150209_17184420150209_17185020150209_17185520150209_171837

Here is the finished product!

Here is the finished product!

I stamped “recipes” onto two pieces of scrap card stock and taped them to the boxes. I wrote “What’s for dinner?!” on a piece of scrapbook paper and secured it using scrapbook stickers.

I also used an ultra fine sharpie to color in the lines at the end of the clothes pins.

And you are done!

I hope you enjoyed this! I am sorry I am missing SO many steps!

I will get better at making tutorials, I promise!

5 thoughts on “DIY Meal Planning Board

Leave a Reply

