Potato Bacon Breakfast Casserole

OVEN TEMP: 400°-350°-400°          PREP TIME:  +/- 60 mins            COOK TIME: 75 mins

Ingredients:

  • 32 oz hash browns (can use frozen or make your own)
  • 1 tbsp dried onion
  • 1 tbsp garlic powder
  • 16 oz cottage cheese
  • 2 c grated cheddar cheese
  • 1 pkg bacon (2 c crumbled) *can use any meat, a mixture of meats, or more than 2 c
  • 12 eggs
  • 1 tbsp milk
  • Cooking spray

Materials:

  • 2 medium cookie sheets
  • 2 wire racks
  • 9″ x 13″ casserole dish
  • Large mixing bowl (you really want a big one)
  • Medium mixing bowl
  • Measuring cup(s)
  • Tablespoon measure
  • Cheese grater
  • Blender *not required but I used mine
  • Whisk *you can use an electric mixer if you have one and want to
  • Large wooden spoons (2)
  • Aluminum foil

Now come the steps!

Preheat your oven to 400° – you need to cook the bacon!

Cookie sheets after lined with aluminum foil and topped with wire rack

Cookie sheets after lined with aluminum foil and topped with wire rack

Close up of one of the finished cookie sheets

Close up of one of the finished cookie sheets

While your oven is preheating you need to get your bacon ready to go in the oven.

Line 2 cookie sheets with aluminum foil and then put wire racks on them.

Lay your bacon out on the cookie sheets.

Bacon lined up  MMMMMMM

Bacon lined up
MMMMMMM

When the oven is preheated, bake the bacon (LOL) for 30 minutes *check around 20 minutes because ovens vary **this is for crispy bacon

2 c grated cheddar

2 c grated cheddar

Garlic powder and dried onion

Garlic powder and dried onion

While the bacon is cooking, go ahead and measure out 1 tbsp each of dried onion and garlic powder.

Now would also be the time to grate your cheese.

You can use shredded cheese, but I love grating things!

I used almost all of an 8 oz block of sharp cheddar. There was about 1/5 of it left

The bacon is done!

The bacon is done!

Once the bacon is done you need to crumble it. If it’s crispy enough you can just use a couple spoons, or even your hands. Using your hands will be messy though and make sure you don’t get burned!

I put my bacon in my blender and used the pulse button until I felt like it was crumbled enough. This did make the bacon pieces VERY small, so if that is not how you want it I would recommend using the spoon method.

Just the hashbrowns

Just the hash browns

The first time I made this dish, I made my own hash browns by grating potatoes. Doing this takes extra prep time and I already had a bag of frozen hash browns.

****The hash browns need to be slightly thawed. If they are left frozen 2 things will happen. One, the hash browns will not cook and more importantly, how will you mix the ingredients together if some of them are frozen

I would recommend using a large mixing bowl for this part. I did not and it was harder to mix and I made a mess.

In a large mixing bowl, combine hash browns, spices, cottage cheese, cheddar cheese, and crumbled bacon.

Mix it well and evenly. Now would be a good time to preheat your oven to 350 º F

After I added the other ingredients (minus eggs and milk) and mixed it together

After I added the other ingredients (minus eggs and milk) and mixed it together

Spray a 9″ x 13″ casserole dish with cooking spray (I totally forgot this step! Oops!) and spread mix into dish.

In a medium sized mixing bowl, beat 12 eggs. You can add other spices if you’d like but this dish really doesn’t need anything else.

Once your eggs and mixed well, add milk and mix again.

Now pour the egg mixture into the casserole dish and mix well. Make sure you try to get everything coated !

This was how it looked when I pulled it out the first time

This was how it looked when I pulled it out the first time

Bake at 350 º F for 60 minutes.

I pulled it out and realized it wasn’t done after I started cutting it up.

I made 2 lines in each direction and I think this helped it to finish cooking.

I turned the oven up to 400 º F and cooked it for another 15 minutes. I left the dish in the oven while it heated to 400

This was after it was completely finished

This was after it was completely finished

Obviously I forgot to take a picture before I started serving! Oops!

I’ll get better at blogging and tutorials, I promise!

Side view

Side view

This meal was SO delicious! It slices very nicely!

We all had seconds and there are plenty of leftovers!

This dish is easy to reheat and just as good as when its fresh!

Let me know any variations you made to the recipe and how it turned out for you!

Thanks for reading!

♥ Kaydee Reign

Leave a Reply

