Cheese Stuffed Hamburgers

The Finished Product

The Finished Product

I LOVE burgers! Every time I eat a burger, I am in Heaven! Mmmm!

Whenever I make burgers at home, I make them myself. It lets me experiment with different things and I love doing that in the kitchen!

If I had thought about it beforehand, I would have cooked some bacon to go in these as well! That would have made them even better!

100_2249Ingredients:

2 – 2.5 lbs ground beef

1 med onion

2/3 – 1 c shredded cheese

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp steak seasoning

2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce

1 tsp soy sauce

Hamburger buns

Olive  oil

Lettuce *optional

Materials: (I did not take a picture of the materials I used)

Large skillet

Cutting board

Splatter screen (If you have one)

Spatula

Knife

Wooden spoon

Measuring cup

Measuring spoon(s)

Now we get down to business!! 

Lettuce and sliced onion

Lettuce and sliced onion

The first things I did: wash the head of lettuce and rip some leaves off, and dice and slice the onion.

Diced and sliced onion

Diced and sliced onion

I was going to dice half of the onion and slice up the other half to put on the burgers.

I ended up dicing much more than 1/2 but it all turned out okay!

The diced onion will be going into the meat, so feel free to add as much as you want!

Next you want to add a little bit of olive oil to a large skillet

You should put a little bit less oil that this

You should put a little bit less oil that this

Now add the diced onion and saute it.

Onions added to the oil

Onions added to the oil

I find  that the best way to get a nice and even saute it to evenly spread out and flatten the ingredients

You really do not need a lot of olive oil for this.

It should be just barely enough to coat the onions.

I put a little bit too much in my skillet and had to wipe it out. I used the same skillet to cook the burgers

This is what my onions looked like when I was finished with them

This is what my onions looked like when I was finished with them. Some are a little burned but that is not a big deal! 

(I do not have a grill and I do not know how to use one)

Now is when you get your hands dirty!!

Worcestershire sauce, soy sauce, garlic powder, steak seasoning, and sauteed onions added to ground beef

Worcestershire sauce, soy sauce, garlic powder, steak seasoning, and sautéed onions added to ground beef

Add the ground beef to a medium or large mixing bowl and mash with your hands.

Add the Worcestershire sauce, soy sauce, garlic powder, steak seasoning, and sautéed onion.

Mix well. Don’t be afraid to really get in there! You want the ingredients to be well mixed into the meat.

I apparently did not take a picture of the meat after I mixed it all together. Probably because I had already washed my hands close to a billion times.

Once you have thoroughly mixed everything together, its time to start shaping the patties!

The average amount of meat I used to shape a patty

The average amount of meat I used to shape a patty

I took enough meat to form a small ball in the palm of my hand.

100_2263Flatten the ball to shape a disc.

Don’t stress on making them perfect, I know I didn’t!

Once you have made your patties, indent the middle of each patty with your thumb.

Make sure not to poke all the way through or make the patty too thin

This picture shows the indents I made.

This picture shows the indents I made. I used the same cutting board I cut the onion on

Now sprinkle a little bit of cheese onto each patty in the indentation.

100_2266

You really don’t need a lot of cheese here.

Add just enough to fill the indentation!!

Flip one patty onto another (obviously you need to have an even number)100_2268

Seal the seam. This step if very important.

If you don’t seal the seam well, when you flip your burger it will fall apart.

And you will be sad.

And you’ll have to scoop a cheesy mess out of your skillet!

100_2269

Let me tell you, these smell phenomenal!

In a large skillet, cook patties 2 at a time, 3-4 minutes on each side.

If you are fancy, and you own AND know how to use a grill, you can and should grill your burgers!

You may want to cook it for less or longer, depending on how done you want your burgers.

Make sure you cook them the way you like it!

Make sure you cook them the way you like it!

It’s probably a good idea (I didn’t do this because I just didn’t think of it until after) to put your burgers on something lined with a few paper towels.

They are greasy and a little more moist with the soy sauce and the Worcestershire sauce.

Now you just assemble your burger and enjoy! 100_2276

I added ranch to my bun and topped my burger with some lettuce!

The Finished Product

The Finished Product

Thanks for reading! I hope you enjoy these burgers as much as we did!

Let me know what you think!

Have a suggestion? Leave me a comment!

❤ Kaydee Reign

Leave a Reply

