Tips for Melting White Chocolate

Using a double-boiler to melt white chocolate is recommended.

White chocolate has a low melting temperature and so direct heat is not recommended. Using direct heat can cause your chocolate to melt too fast and burn.

If you do not own a double-boiler, you can make one yourself using 2 saucepans (like I did) or a saucepan and a metal bowl. 

My homemade double boiler! The top pot should fit snugly onto the bottom pot. (Mine does not! Oops!)

My homemade double boiler! The top pot should fit snugly onto the bottom pot. (Mine does not! Oops!)

Add about 1″ water to the lower pot **DO NOT add a lot of water. The water should never come in contact with the top pot/bowl, even when it is boiling!

Bring the water to a rolling boil, turn the heat on low and add the top pot with your white chocolate.

**Do NOT keep the temperature on your stove high. It won’t burn your chocolate at first, but after a couple of minutes: RUINED.

The white chocolate is starting to melt

The white chocolate is starting to melt

This is where your patience needs to kick in!! 

This is not a quick process, but if you want your chocolate to melt right it is definitely the way to go!

Stir your chocolate fairly often, it helps spread the heat around.

The chocolate will look like its sweating, and very slowly it will start to liquefy.

The amount of time it takes will depend on how much white chocolate you need. The more you need, the more time it will take.

You can microwave the chocolate to melt it (I would NOT recommend this method) in 30 second increments. You are more likely to burn it this way!

This is what it should look like when it is close to being finished. I did NOT let my chocolate melt as much as I needed it to be.

This is what it should look like when it is close to being finished. I did NOT let my chocolate melt as much as I needed it to be. I was in a rush to finish this and get my kids down for nap time! 

Other tips to keep in mind when melting white chocolate:

  • Make sure the pan with the chocolate and any utensils used are dry. Moisture will cause your chocolate to seize and you will have to start over or try to fix it!
  • Do NOT use a wooden spoon. Wood retains moisture and could cause your chocolate to seize as well.
  • Periodically check the water in the bottom pan!!

***At some point I realized my chocolate wasn’t melting anymore and was starting to harden. I was so confused until I lifted the top pot and saw the last couple drops of water evaporate. HOWEVER! If you do this how you are supposed to, your water will not evaporate because you turned the burner onto low after the water started to boil and before you added the top pot. (I had forgotten to turn my heat down) 

Just remember to keep a close eye on your chocolate and stir it often!

Do you have any other tips or tricks for melting white chocolate??

Leave me a comment here or check out my Contact Me page!

Thanks for reading!!!

Kaydee Reign 

One thought on “Tips for Melting White Chocolate

  1. Pingback: No Bake Peanut Butter Corn Flake Balls | Make it my home

Leave a Reply

